The Game Awards 2022: All the information you need

News Summary:

  • The official Livestream for The Game Awards 2022 begins December 8 with a 30-minute pre-show at 4:30 PM PT / 7:30 PM ET, followed by the main show at 5 PM PT / 8 PM ET. Award winners will be announced from over 30 categories across general gaming and esports including Game of the Year, Best Game Direction, and a new award for Best Adaptation of a video game IP into another form of media. The event will also feature announcements involving “40 to 50 games” according to an Epic Games interview with Keighley, who calls this year’s event the “biggest show yet.”

  • The calendar has flipped to December, and in the video game world, that means all eyes turn to The Game Awards, the annual end-of-year celebration that mixes honors for Game of the Year with trailers and reveals potential future GOTY award winners. The Game Awards and Keighley himself will be teasing what`s to come at this year’s event via their social media accounts, so far including a live presentation by Final Fantasy XVI producer Naoki Yoshida and a live performance of “Blood Upon The Snow” from God of War Ragnarok by popular musician Hozier.

The Game Awards will be streaming live on its official YouTube and Twitch channels, along with direct feeds on social media sites like Facebook, TikTok, and Twitter and right here on GameSpot. The event will also show up on Steam. Anyone who plans to watch on Steam can sign up to get a free Steam deck of him. One of which will be handed out by his Valve during each minute of the Livestream.