How to Reset And Wipe Your Mac Before Selling

Update – 2020.04.12

Reset and clean your Mac before selling – Are you planning to give your MacBook Pro to someone else? If you are considering selling your MacBook Pro computer, it is important to ensure that all data has been removed. This will also ensure that no one gets access to your personal or confidential information. This not only ensures that the system is updated, but also protects your privacy in the sense of resetting the device for a new user.

To clean the MacBook Pro, many simply format the hard drive. However, this is not enough, as the data is still recoverable. Anyone with good skills can recover your confidential data for personal use. So, you would rather follow this article than be a victim of data theft.

Here are the steps to ensure that everything is clean and nothing can be recovered.

Method 1. How to remove / delete everything from your MacBook Pro

To start the cleaning process, you will need to verify that your MacBook Pro computer is connected to the Internet. Here, we’re talking about removing all traces of information or data from your Pro computer. So it’s not just the hard drive that we’re going to erase. Let’s get rid of everything.

In addition, if you are reselling your MacBook Pro, you will also want to reinstall OSX. Nobody will buy the computer without the operating system. This will require that you restore the device to factory settings first. Again, you will need an internet connection for this process.

The whole process can take a while. So, before you start, charge your computer. It would be better if you could keep it connected to the power source during the process.

Let’s start with the cleaning process first. Here are the steps you need to take:

  • Click the Apple menu on your Mac (the one with the Apple logo)
  • Select Restart. This will restart the computer and start up again. But you don’t want to restart your computer normally. You need the special boot screen.
  • When you click restart, your Mac will shut down first, and when you start restarting again, press the CMD and R keys simultaneously on the gray screen. Remember that you will be given a very small window to perform this action. So be careful when restarting. If you lose the window, you will need to restart your computer again.
  • You will now see the utility boot for your OSX. From here, you can make many changes related to the system and modify the settings. However, it is best not to experiment with options that you don’t know about. This can cause a problem.
  • Choose Disk Utility on the next screen
  • You should be able to see the Boot Disk option now (this may be labeled differently in different versions of OSX, but they are about boot)
  • Click on the operating system on the left and choose Delete (one of the tabs on the screen).
  • Locate the Format option. You will also need to ensure that Mac OS Extended has been chosen (as shown in the image above).
  • Confirm your action by clicking the Delete button.

This process may take a while, depending on the volume of data saved on your hard drive.

Method 2 Reinstalling the operating system

After everything has been deleted from your Mac computer, you will want to make it reusable again by installing OSX. Without the operating system, your computer is no good. Here’s what you need to do to reinstall your operating system and restore your Mac to its original factory settings:

  • Exit Disk Utility after erasing everything from the computer
  • When your Mac restarts now, it will automatically direct you to the ‘macOS Utilities’ screen, from where you can reconfigure your computer.
  • Choose ‘Reinstall macOS’ and click Continue.
  • On the subsequent screens, you will need to confirm a few things. In most cases, you do not need to make changes to the confirmation screens, unless you are looking for something specific.
  • To reinstall the operating system, you will need an internet connection. The factory settings are stored on Apple servers, not the client.

This will reconfigure the operating system on your Mac and make it look like new.

Method 3. Erase everything from MacBook Pro with SafeWiper for Disk

As we have always said in our article, the simple deletion will not be enough to clean your Macbook, the data still on your Mac hard drive and be easily recovered by some data recovery. Therefore, you must permanently erase confidential data before selling, donating, donating, lending or throwing away your Mac / device, even before sending the device for repair. Here, we recommend using the SafeWiper for Disk program to erase everything from your Macbook and make data unrecoverable!

SafeWiper for Disk is a powerful, yet professional Cleaning software for Mac it can erase all data on the hard disk or external hard disk, SD card, memory card, USB drive, it can even format and erase data from the disk or inaccessible device.

Resource 1: Erase files / folders on our Macbook’s hard drive.

If you need to clean up specific sensitive documents, images or other files on your Mac, select the first feature. It can permanently erase selected files or folders from the Mac machine or from the storage media on Mac OS.

Resource 2: Clean your Macbook’s hard drive

This mode can help you wipe everything on your local hard drive on your MacBook. It can completely wipe the entire hard drive or storage device on your Mac to destroy and erase all existing data, deleted / lost data and traces.

Resource 3. Wipe free space on your Macbook hard drive

This feature can permanently erase deleted / lost data and traces without affecting existing files or data.

Verdict

If you need erase everything on MacBook Pro, just formatting hard drives separately is not a good option. It is best to use Disk Utility to clean everything up. This way, the data will be unrecoverable and your personal information will remain secure. You can reinstall the OS later. I hope you enjoy our article on How to reset and clean your Mac before selling. If you like it, share it with your friends, family or loved ones.